“All you need is love.”

English: Love Heart with bandage for repair

English: Love Heart with bandage for repair (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

With all due respect to the Beatles, it’s a jungle out there.   Short of saints, most humans need additional equipment.
Even Jesus did a stint as a carpenter.  Just making it this far, we’ve all pieced together a ragtag set of tools for managing life here on the big blue marble.  Whether they were won through the genetic lottery, earned through applied effort, forged through adversity, or simply congealed from the cesspool of hindsight, we’ve all got them. How closely our life matches our ideal depends, of course, on which tools we choose and how well we use them.

That being said.  As a person whose top ten tools includes ice cream, I am not the person to go to for advice or to serve as judge.  I am as likely to have acquired my tools through apathy as effort, fear as fortitude, and, well, you can take it from there.  I am, of course, quite proud of the ones I’ve added through my most difficult trials, concerted effort and even the odd moments of startling clarity.  However, I am not too proud to stoop, pick up, and use the ones tripped over during times of foolishness, happenstance, or plain old dumb luck.  While I would not say, ‘life sucks’,  I would say that great big chunks of it sometimes do and a well stocked toolbox can make it easier to walk out the front door each day.  Thought I’d take some time to explore, organize and knock any spurious rat droppings off mine. Feel free to come along. Don’t forget your gloves.

This entry was posted in Thoughts, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to “All you need is love.”

  1. Thanks for letting me camp out in your blog for a little while today. I had a great time and tried to leave my campsite as good as when I arrived. I’ll be back!

  2. carolofthebells says:

    “Spurious rat droppings” — LOL! I missed this post–and hopefully many more! I will enjoy working my way forward, here.

    • Thank you. Wow, you really went back. Yes, I set out with a direction in mind and then I wandered in another. I suppose if I keep going I’ll wander off in yet another direction. It’s a journey.

  3. carolofthebells says:

    Apparently, I’ve been reading/viewing you for some time, ’cause I’m already caught up! Dammit, have you got a book out?

Leave a Reply

