Story Challenge: Letter W

 snow lamp
Winter weather in the Washington D.C. area is eclectic.  Late fall into early winter, November and December, we bob between temperatures. This week, it’s been freezing one day and almost 70ºF the next.  True winter weather, January and February, isn’t a lot more predictable.  In 2010, we had back to back snowstorms and a blizzard.  In 2011, I never even needed a coat.  Most winters are simply cold and messy with sporadic snow and freezing rain.  They’re more inconvenient than anything else.

Sometimes winter doesn’t always end when it should as my husband will attest.  When he first arrived in the U. S. from his home in Rio de Janeiro, it was April and he was dressed in shorts and a t-shirt.  He walked out of the airport and straight into a late snowstorm.  Welcome to America!  Welcome to our nation’s capital!  He was so cold he couldn’t think straight.  He left his passport and wallet in the cab.  Fortunately, the cab driver kept them safe and my husband was later able to retrieve them.

If you ever want a good laugh, you should watch us drive in the snow.  We’re such amateurs.  Coming home from work during a blizzard, I came down a curved ramp to the interstate.  A snow plow had just passed and piled a wall of snow across the ramp in front of me.  I got out, grabbed my shovel from the trunk and began clearing the snow.  Cars were sliding down the hill behind me so I was hurling the snow out of the way like a mad woman.  The next morning, on my way to work, I found myself in the same situation but it was dark and I didn’t want to have another car run into me as I dug.  Seeing no
oncoming cars on the interstate, I floored it.  I hoped that my aged little car could plow through it, that I wouldn’t spin all the way across the highway, and that I wasn’t wrong about ‘no oncoming traffic.’  Fortunately, I didn’t kill my car, myself, or anyone else that day.

I like living where there are four seasons.  That doesn’t mean I have to like them all equally.  “It’s almost winter,” she said pouting.  “Where’s my hot chocolate and my shovel?”

To join the challenge:  Frizztext’s–Story Challenge:  Letter W

This entry was posted in Flickr Comments Photo Challenge, Photos and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Story Challenge: Letter W

  1. stephglaser says:

    Great description of the scene on the interstate ramp — funny! 🙂 Beautiful photo, too. Steph

  2. Myra GB says:

    My family and I experienced snow once when we spent Christmas in California in 2010. The winter’s not as bad as you guys experience it in the East Coast, I bet, but it was still a winter wonderland in both Tahoe and Yosemite. We’re pretty lucky to have the sun the whole year round here in Singapore – but autumn is beautiful. And winter does have its charm on occasion. 🙂

  3. carolofthebells says:

    LOL — I’m pretty sure everyone’s an amateur in blizzards, except for 6 folks up Maine, and a few more in the even norther and easter Northeast. I’m sure snow dumps are good for somethin’, but for people? Not so much! This is so well written, as always. I truly enjoyed it..

    • Thank you. An inch of snow here and they close the schools and the federal offices shutdown. At least we know our weakness and err on the side of caution. Unfortunately, if you work in a major department store and you’re the opening senior manager, you’d better throw the shovel in your trunk and drive through the blizzard afterall there are lives to be saved. Oh wait, that’s not what we do?

  4. frizztext says:

    Winter weather in the Washington = a perfect W-excurs!

Leave a Reply

